“Dark Thoughts, Harsh Truth’s”

The name of my new art exhibition is titled “Dark Thoughts, Harsh Truths”. This art gallery is something that I always wanted to do for a long time but its hard to create this type of art because we live in a time where darker truths about society isn’t really seen or heard in art or entertainment anymore. The industry are only going to put in play it safe “creative” types. So as a result we have to put up with the same bullshit over and over. IMO art is suppose to be real, honest, hard hitting and tell the truth.

I’ve done that in doses in my other work like my “Inside My Mind” series. But with “Dark Thoughts, Harsh Truths” I want to explore humanity more. I want to talk about the things that I think about often. The things that eat away at me. I wanted to create art that was authentic. This is what I’m passionate about.

Obviously money is important because we all need it to survive. Money is a interesting thing. It’s something that exist, that doesn’t exist if that make sense. (probably don’t) So unfortunately many creatives are forced to create the bullshit that the “industry” dictate whats “acceptable” in order to survive and pay their bills. So as a result: art, entertainment or whatever can’t really push the bar like it’s suppose to. Well that and the fact that somebody will always get offended and their feelings hurt when you say something that they don’t agree with. But fuck them. Art isn’t suppose to make everybody happy or feel good inside.

Me personally?…I’m tired of playing that game. I’m an artist, a thinker, a man of principle with my own philosophies about life. I self reflect alone in solitude and have a thirst for the truth. No matter how much the answer hurts. Something deep inside me always ask “Why?”. I’m foolish like that. I’m a glutton for punishment I guess hahaha

I digress. I want to create real art. Not keep up with the bullshit art industry and whats deemed “industry standard” fuck that. If I’m going to fail. I atleast want to fail standing on my feet instead of on my knees.

The process was totally spontaneous. I just picked up the pen and created everything from scratch. Whatever was on my mind became the concept and aesthetic aspect was totally freestyle off the top of my head(like a freestyle rapper basically). Honestly I cant even reproduce any of these images because everything was tally created in the moment without any formula.

I like to create new styles, techniques, color schemes, patterns and shapes. On top of that, mix it in with the different things that I think about and learned about life thus far. This gallery is very experimental. The concepts, illustration style and color combinations is something I wanted to be original. Not only do I want the art to look different and have a unique style for each individual piece BUT I also want each piece to have a message. A message that can provoke thought, teach life lessons and inspire. At the very least, If you don’t understand the shit that I’m saying…you can atleast have something to stare at when you’re high hahaha. Also I still want them to look aesthetically cool enough to wear. I got something for everybody.

Anyway… This gallery will explore many things about our society. It’ll cover race. The current conditions of black america in general but also my experiences and outlook on American life as a young black man. Teaching lessons that can help the black youth not fall under a corrupt capitalistic society that’s clearly set to keep them as bottom feeders. And the importance of not falling for the MANY pitfalls set to destroy black youth. Yeah I’m unapologetic about that. I’ll always push that message as hard as I can. I also talk about the importance of being rightuoes, being educated, having patience, discipline and having critical thought. Because  without those you’ll be destroyed… period my friend!

I will talk about the illusion of “Success”. The allure of wealth. The trap of lavish things and how it comes with a price when you compromise you integrity. A price that might not be worth the prize’s that you receive. I don’t want to come off as preachy tho. More so just tell people that it’s a choice and how it’s up to them to make whatever choice they feel is best for them…but it comes with consequences of course.

I talk about personal things too. Like depression, loneliness and mental growth. Obtaining wisdom and growing from the mistakes that I’ve made in the past. I talk about the internal struggle and and the complicated way that we have to pretend that the pain doesn’t exist in order to function in society.

Lastly I talk about spiritual things like death. The afterlife also. Escaping the pain that’s on earth and transiting to the next level of existence. Not that I’m a religiously person but I like to explore those topics and learn from different religions. I think all of them teach value lessons about life.

This gallery was created out of pure love and passion for art. No agenda… just art in it’s purest form without nobody to censor or temper with it.

Anyway blah blah blah I present to you: “Dark Thoughts, Harsh Truth’s”

Piece Listing:
1. After Dark
2. Belly Of The Beast (Part II)
3. Fly Away (Part II)
4. Fly To The Moon
5. Internal War
6. Mental Metamorphosis
7. The American Dream
8. The Slaughterhouse
9. Tunnel Vision
10. Unlocking The Darkness
11. Enlightenment
12. No Fear

after-dark-igbelly-of-the-beast-2-igfly-away-2-igfly-to-the-moon-iginternal-war-igmental-metamorphosis-igthe-american-dream-igthe-slaughter-house-igtunnel-vision-igunlocking-the-dearkness-ig
enlightment-igno-fear-ig

Leave a Reply

