Art Lesson: Using Texture in Tattoo or Regular Drawing

Examples:

angels-and-demons-copy

texture-1

texture-2

In this article I’ll talk about the importance of texture and how to us it. The top example is a black & grey ink pen drawing. I created for my tattoo portfolio. I like to use regular Bic pen to practice for tattooing, and I never erase. Check out the 2 smaller examples, those are closer samples of texture.

I digress, This drawing in particular has alot of texture. Texture is important for realistic drawing. Things like texture, shadows, contrast and smooth shading is key to create a great drawing or tattoo.

When I created texture I use a quick and simple strategy. I add simple lines and shapes and then shade over them , the same way I would do, even If i didn’t have any texture. After, I’ll go back and add shadows in places that I feel need them .

Leave a Reply

